Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 26th, 2010

Deb’s House Concerts

Privacy Fences

I’ve lived in this house for several years now, and I’ve toyed with the idea of building a privacy fence.  I had a privacy fence around my little back yard in Tulsa, and I loved it. It kept me out of my neighbors’ business, and it kept them out of mine. I could lie in my hammock any time of the day or night. I could mow on my schedule and not on my neighbors’ schedules. My animals could be outside with me and have the run of the yard without anyone complaining.

Growing a Fence

In Tulsa, the fence already surrounded the yard when I moved in. Here, my yard was surrounded by a chain link fence. I told myself it would be rude to move in and immediately build a tall, wooden fence. So, I did nothing. But, I still love the idea of having my own private space that’s just for me and not for people in ten other houses and two or three streets. I still kind of feel like it would be unneighborly for me to put up a big wooden fence. But, for some reason, I don’t feel like there is anything wrong with growing a fence! :)

The Beginning of a Screen

I’ve cropped a photo of the trees, because the ones in the middle also included the house next door. Obviously, my living fence idea is in the early stages. I can still see people next door, and next to them, and the next street. But, the little trees I (so unkindly) ripped out of the ground on the fruitful side of my yard are doing a good job of at least pretending to be a living fence.

Read Full Post »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.